Route 51

National Route 51National Route 51 of the National Cycle Network will connect Colchester and Oxford via Harwich, Felixstowe, Ipswich, Bury St. Edmunds, Cambridge, Bedford and Milton Keynes.

Between Huntingdon and Sandy the route follows National Route 12. The route is called "The University Way" between Oxford and Cambridge.

Open Sections: The route is currently open and signed between Colchester and Felixstowe, Ipswich and Bury St. Edmunds, Newmarket and Huntingdon and Sandy and Oxford. The rest of the route is still under development.

Maps and leaflets for this route are detailed below the map:

 National Route 51 map

Maps and leaflets:

Colchester to Felixstowe via Harwich is a part of the Fakenham to Harwich Cycle Route, however this map is unfortunately now out of print.

Felixstowe to Newmarket is mapped on the RPL103 National Cycle Route 51 map, or use RBG12 Goldeneye Suffolk, a map of the entire county showing Ipswich to Bury St. Edmunds.

Newmarket to St Neots is mapped on the free FC03 Central Cambridgeshire cycle map.

Sandy to Milton Keynes is mapped on the RPR20 Explore Route 51 - The University Way.

Milton Keynes to Oxford is a part of the South Midlands Cycle Route and mapped on the NN6A South Midlands Cycle Route map.

Get SCCS updates